A Devil In Every Flame

Wow… I guess if I’m going to be posting every other Friday I might want to find the pause button on life. Life being so busy can make things like this difficult but then again it gives me plenty to write about. Though seeing as I’m already late and I have too much to do tomorrow, I’m going to keep this one short and sweet.

It’s said that there is a devil in every flame, and through the years I have seen many a flame and through my photographs I have seen many an apparition. It’s funny what the camera will catch. In all the years I’ve been in this business I’ve probably only seen a “devil in the flame” maybe three times. Chalk it up to being busy or your mind playing tricks on you afterwards; but the only time I seem to see these things is in the pictures later. It’s a cop-out on typing on my behalf, but I’m going to share a few of those with you.

This one doesn’t have the obvious devil in it but it is one of the few situations that I saw one. This pic was taken just after me seeing it. The wire that is hanging down to the right looked just like a noose and still does kind of. It was hanging just below the ceiling and looked like there was someone in it. It was all just illusion but I could have sworn there was someone in it. Then it dropped to the floor like it was loaded. It was all an illusion but an interesting experience none the less.

This one is the namesake and inspiration to this post. One of my favorite and most unexpected pictures, I was astonished when I saw the skull in the upper right corner. Staring at this one for long enough, I’ve found a few more but it’s probably just my over active imagination.

This picture was taken way back in ’02 on a cheep camera through a dirty window and at night; so it’s not the best quality. But even so, I’ve always enjoyed the pic. I’m one of the guys right below the tree. I love how it looks like the fire is getting ready to reach out and grab us.

This was an old trailer house that went up, from the same house as the first pic. A strong wind hit the other end of the trailer and caused this nice barrel roll of flame out the end. I thought it was interesting how it looked like a face screaming out of the end of the house.

I have several more to show but I feel this post has gone on long enough and I’ve probably lost my few readers due to boredom by now so I’ll just quit while I’m behind and make an extra effort to make my next post on time.

 

Leave a Reply

